Like much of the US, the most popular breeds in South Dakota are Labradors, Golden Retrievers, and German Shepherds. If you are a new pet parent in South Dakota, here are the answers to some frequently asked questions.
How many dogs can you have in South Dakota?
Pet owners in South Dakota can own up to 4 dogs and cats. Any person that has five or more animals must keep them within the confines of their property. Failure to do so amounts to a public nuisance and there are provisions in the law to deal with it.
Do you have to license your dog in South Dakota?
Yes, dogs and cats over the age of 6 months need to be licensed and must be vaccinated for rabies.
How much is it to register a dog in South Dakota?
It costs $5 to register your dog if the dog is spayed or neutered. The cost is $10 if the dog is not spayed or neutered. You need to renew the license every year. You can pay $15 for a 3-year license for a dog that’s been neutered or spayed.
Where do I license my dog in South Dakota?
You can obtain a dog license at any vet’s office, at your local humane society, as well as at a law enforcement center in your town or city. You will need to show that your dog has been vaccinated for rabies to obtain the dog license.
Does South Dakota have a leash law?
Yes, South Dakota has a leash law. It is illegal to allow any animal, including dogs and cats, to run amuck. The fine is $50 for the first offense and $100 for each additional offense.
If you are a first-time dog parent in South Dakota and have more questions, check out the blog section on Puppy Hero. We have articles that answer common questions from new pet parents. You can also contact responsible and experienced South Dakota breeders who can answer breed-specific questions for you.